Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Staff list

Prof  Helen Beebee - Personal details


Contact details

Role: Samuel Hall Professor of Philosophy


Tel: 0161 275-1755

Location: Arthur Lewis Building-4.048
School of Social Sciences
The University of Manchester
M13 9PL



I studied at Warwick (BA), Liverpool (MA) and King's College London (PhD). Before coming to Manchester for the second time in 2012, I was a temporary lecturer at Edinburgh (1994-5), St. Andrews (1995-6) and UCL (1996-7), a postdoc at the Australian National University (1997-9), a lecturer/senior lecturer at Manchester (1999-2005), and then a professor at Birmingham (2005-12), where I did stints as Head of Department (2005-8) and Head of School (2011-12).

From September 2016 to August 2019, I'll be the Principal investigator on the AHRC-funded project, 'The age of metaphysical revolution: David Lewis and his place in the history of analytic philosophy', with my new colleauges at Manchester Fraser MacBride, Frederique Janssen-Lauret and Anthony Fisher. You can read a bit about the project here.

I've been involved in various other research projects, including a Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship (2008-10) and a large AHRC project ('Metaphysics of Science', 2006-9), on which I was a co-investigator along with Alexander Bird (Bristol, PI) and Stephen Mumford (Nottingham). More recently, I was co-applicant on a successful application to the Royal Society/British Academy for a Newton International Fellowship with Anthony Fisher, who spent two years at Manchester working on Samuel Alexander. (The University of Manchester hosts Alexander's unpublished correspondence and papers. Click here for our Alexander-related website.)

I am one of the co-editors of Philosophy and Phenomenological Research and an associate editor of the Journal of the American Philosophical Association; I'm also on the editorial boards of Hume Studies and the Australasian Journal of Philosophy.

I'm currently President of the British Society for the Philosophy of Science and President Elect of the Aristotelian Society, co-chair (with Jenny Saul) of the BPA/Society for Women in Philosophy (UK) Committee for Women in Philosophy, and a member of the Royal Institute of Philosophy's Council and Executive Committee. I was Director of the British Philosophical Assocation from 2007 to 2011 and a member of the AHRC's Advisory Board from 2009 to 2013. 

Personal details | Research | Postgraduate opportunities | Publications | Further information